Nearly one in three Americans age 65 years or older live in low-income households. To make matters even more difficult, healthcare and housing costs are high, and place a huge strain on the fixed budgets of many of our senior neighbors. North Kent Connect is working to help seniors by providing specially-tailored programs to meet their needs.

Senior Pantry

Our Senior Pantry is open to Kent County residents ages 60+ who meet the income requirements. It takes place on the third Thursday of each month from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. with drive-up distribution, so you don’t have to leave your car. Photo ID and proof of income are required for registration. Income guidelines for a household set at 200 percent or below of the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines. A $2 donation is encouraged at each visit. A schedule is available at the front desk.

The 2021 Senior Pantry dates are:

  • Thursday, January 21, 2021
  • Thursday, February 18, 2021
  • Thursday, March 18, 2021
  • Thursday, April 15, 2021
  • Thursday, May 20, 2021
  • Thursday, June 17, 2021
  • Thursday, July 15, 2021
  • Thursday, August 19, 2021
  • Thursday, September 16, 2021
  • Thursday, October 21, 2021
  • Thursday, November 18, 2021
  • Thursday, December 16, 2021

Senior Commodities

The Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP) works to improve the health of low-income elderly persons at least 60 years of age by supplementing their diets with nutritious USDA foods. It takes place on the third Monday of each month from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. outside on the north end of the building, as a drive-up distribution, so you don’t have to leave your car. Income guidelines for households set at 130 percent or below of the Federal Poverty Income Guidelines. North Kent Connect will determine eligibility.

The 2021 Senior Commodities dates are:

  • Monday, January 11, 2021
  • Monday, February 8, 2021
  • Monday, March 8, 2021
  • Monday, April 12, 2021
  • Monday, May 10, 2021
  • Monday, June 14, 2021
  • Monday, July 9, 2021
  • Monday, August 9, 2021
  • Monday, September 13, 2021
  • Monday, October 11, 2021
  • Monday, November 8, 2021
  • Monday, December 13, 2021

Please contact a Case Manager to fill out an application by calling 616-866-3478.

Meals on Wheels West Michigan

Dedicated North Kent Connect volunteers deliver senior meals to registered individuals on Tuesdays in the Rockford and Sparta areas. For more information, please visit the Meals on Wheels Western Michigan website.

Related Information